October 2 Cape Breton to Halifax

Good morning. This is our last morning on Cape Breton, though I really, really, want to return someday. We had the usual breakfast in Gisele’s dining room, and then loaded up the bus. We drove only a short way, into Baddeck, to the Alexander Graham Bell museum there. We had seen a video about Bell the day before on the bus, which had given us a very good introduction to this amazing man.

http://www.pc.gc.ca/lhn-nhs/ns/grahambell/index.aspx

I didn’t spend a lot of time in the museum, though it was very interesting. I did get a photo of a reconstruction of the first airplane to fly in Canada, which he had designed:

P1010894

It’s hard to get a photo that shows all the amazing details of the plane. Bell also helped design early hydrofoils. What I found most amazing was that he seemed to have been the first to have the concept and term of “greenhouse gases” and worried about usage of fossil fuels and sustainability, and he even designed a simple machine that utilized solar energy.

I then left for a last walk around Baddeck. I took a photo of the library’s bookmobile, in honor of having driven one for 15 years: P1010899

I wanted to see what Baddeck looked like from the water. Here’s a view:P1010898 Then a couple views from the wharf: P1010896 P1010897

This wonderful ancient building houses, I think, a home decorating business:P1010895

Then it was time to hop on the bus, and off we went to the causeway that connects Cape Breton with Nova Scotia. My whining to Linda, and her own duties, necessitated a stop near the gift shop that had a fabulous end-of-season sale last time we stopped. So despite Linda’s maxim that “Road Scholars don’t shop,” we poured into the store, and soon there was such a crush at the cash register that the clerk requested us to get in line. I found some gifts for the guys (which I might keep for myself) and some stuff for me. Way cool stuff. Back on the bus, we watched a video about the catastrophic explosion in Halifax’s harbor in 1917. I fear I dozed off before it was over. I had first learned of the explosion from reading Robert MacNeil’s Burden of Desire. It’s a fabulous book.  It’s set just after the explosion, and the central character is the widow of a soldier who died in Europe in the Great War.

Then a stop for lunch at Smitty’s in Truro. Not great, but it was late, we were hungry, and, as always, the company was excellent. After lunch, back on the bus, another video. This one was about Bluenose, the most famous schooner of all. I think I have a framed print of it back home, and am really curious about that. Bluenose’s fate reflects the failing fortunes of the wooden fishing fleet in the area. It was also the winner, for a number of years, of a hotly-contested race between the best fishing schooner of Lunenberg and that of Gloucester, Massachusetts. A Bluenose II was built around 1960, and that has also been reconstructed, and sails during the summer months.

https://bluenose.novascotia.ca/

Once we settled in our hotel (and checked email) Alice and I decided to cruise around downtown Halifax. We had no dinner plans, so I bought some celery, carrots, an orange and a banana for my dinner–feeling the need for fewer calories and more veggies. Halifax is certainly a thriving town, and very photogenic:  P1010904 P1010903

We had gone by St. Paul’s Cathedral, the oldest Anglican cathedral in North America, and I definitely wanted to see inside it. P1010901 P1010900And so, when we saw a little notice that a Blessings of the Animals would happen at 6:30 this evening, we made sure to be back for it. The vicar and congregation were welcoming and friendly, the dogs had a great time, and the interior of the church was beautiful, sacred, and historic. I loved it. P1010909 P1010908 P1010906 P1010905

That was a a lovely way to end the day. Back to the hotel to soak in the bath, write, and eat produce. yum.Bubba Maurice Drouin-Lynch (1)While we’re on the subject of animals, here’s a photo of my boy cat, Bubba, helping my son weed in the garden. I miss both of them, but they’re back in Eugene, enjoying a late summer.

One Response

  1. Dear Zeca,
    How beautiful is your kitty! And how envious I am that you have a dear
    son who weeds the garden! My son TJ has a veggie garden but I doubt
    that he would weed mine.

    Teddy

Leave a Reply

